Table of Contents
Updating a central configuration
Table of Contents
Legacy Note
This guide describes legacy functionality in Fotostation. In new versions of Fotostation configurations are maintained and downloaded to the client over FWP. See Creating and maintaining centralized Fotostation configurations for updated documentation.
Updating a configuration
To update a configuration after making changes to it, go to File (Fotostation on Mac) > Manage Configurations > Upload Configuration to Server. Locate the Fotostation Logon folder and select OK. Then select Update an existing configuration and choose the configuration to update from the dropdown list.
Note:
When Fotostation is configured to use a centrally stored configuration, any changes that the user makes to the configuration, such as creating new archives and actions, will not be saved when the user quits the program. Upon a program restart, Fotostation will reload the configuration from the server, and any changes made by the user during the last session will be lost. This behavior is intended, as it prevents users from making permanent changes to the centrally stored configuration. A system administrator can restore the original configuration simply by restarting the program.
To update the configuration, either a Fotostation user account must have “upload configuration on exit” privileges set in the user administration, or the configuration must be updated manually, as described in the paragraph above.
If the network is down, a message will inform the user that the network folder is unavailable. Fotostation will use the last good configuration, which has been cached to the local disk.