Table of Contents
Comments
Table of Contents
Users can comment on content and notify other users, e.g., by reviewing metadata before publication or asking questions about the content.
Note
The video below was recorded before the product was renamed to Fotoware Alto. You will see the previous product name and user interface.
Users can comment on (master) content and notify others, e.g., to review metadata or the content before it becomes available, or to request access to the original content item if no such permission was granted. The commenting feature allows you to mention other users, who are then notified in Fotoware Alto and via e-mail.
Note
For cross-department enterprise-wide collaboration, we recommend using Fotoware Alto integrated into the collaborative tools of your choice, such as Slack, MS Teams, or Google Chat.
Common use cases
- I want to add a comment to an asset, like a sticky note, mentioning that John doesn't want me to use this image for advertising."
- I want to add a comment to an asset mentioning a Fotoware Alto user to inform her that the asset is outdated. Like @Cathy, please remove this from any presentation.
- Comments can be edited or removed anytime by the owner (the creator of the comment) or your system administrator.
- I can mention Content Items in comments using the Content Item URL (from the browser bar) to point users to better content: @Nicole: pls use ContentItemURI from now on.
- I can mention list items within the comments using the list item URL (refId): @David: pls use ListItemURI1 and ListItemURI1 on social media.
Limitations
- The Fotoware Alto API (formerly Picturepark API) allows you to create, edit, and remove comments.
- Comments are not available in Fotoware Alto Business Rules.
- Only active, reviewed Fotoware Alto users with the “Manage comments” permission can be mentioned and notified.
- When mentioning a Fotoware Alto user, these will only be suggested when the commenting user has the Manage users permission. Still, if the correct email address is entered, notifications will be sent. This limitation will be addressed in a future release.
- You can mention up to twenty users.